I am so excited that I’m finally getting to do a blog post about something that I’ve cooked! As I’ve mentioned before, I have really been looking forward to cooking in our new house. I have so much fun experimenting, even though my tester is usually a reluctant participant. This week, I’ve been trying to get back in to planning meals out for the week, and re-purposing leftovers to make something new. On Monday night, we decided to fire up the grill, and cooked some Italian chicken sausage, which we enjoyed with rice, caramelized onions, and roasted veggies. The sausage came in a package with 5 sausages, and our rice cooker usually makes enough rice for two meals.  I had originally hoped to make some fried rice (which would have used up some leftover carrots and celery) but felt that the Italian flavored sausage would not go well with the Asian flavors of fried rice.

After noodling it for a while, I decided that there was no reason why rice couldn’t be used as a substitution for pasta to make Carbonara Fried Rice. I bought some bacon from the deli, and rendered it while P grilled up the remaining sausage.  While the bacon was rendering, I beat a couple of eggs with a palm-full of Parmesan cheese, and a dash of Penzey’s Pasta Sprinkle. After heating up the rice in the same pan with the cooked bacon, I added the egg mixture, the same way I would fried rice. For some color, I also added a handful of frozen peas, which added some nice pop to the dish.

Carbonara Fried Rice (The measurements are approximate)

Ingredients:

  • 3 links of cooked Italian Chicken Sausage cut in coins
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 strips of bacon, chopped roughly
  • 2 cups of rice (I use cold, leftover rice when making fried rice)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 Tbsp of Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tbsp of Penzey’s Pasta Sprinkle (basil, oregano, garlic, and thyme)
  • 1 cup of frozen peas

Method:

  1. Add olive oil and bacon pieces to pan.  Render bacon until chewy, but not crisp, it will continue to cook as the rest of the ingredients are added.
  2. Add rice to the pan, and toss with the bacon pieces oils in the pan.
  3. While the rice is heating through, beat the egg with Parmesan cheese, and Pasta Sprinkle
  4. Once the rice is heated through, pour the egg mixture over the top and stir vigorously to coat the rice, and cook the egg.
  5. Add frozen peas, and toss until warmed through.
  6. Add coins of chicken sausage, and give one last toss to combine.
  7. Top with additional Parmesan cheese to taste (P doesn’t like Parmesan, at all, so when I make dishes that call for it, I tend to cut it down, and then add it to my own portion).

I think it could have used a little more “sauce” to bind it. Usually, when I make fried rice, once I add the egg, I also add a little soy sauce, or teriyaki sauce as a binder. Possibly a touch of chicken stock might work to add a little bit of “binding” to the dish, while keeping with the flavor profile. If anyone tries this out, let me know what you think!

