Tags

,

Today, I’ve decided to reboot Home for Two. It has been languishing for far too long. I think being a regular blogger takes a huge amount of discipline, discipline that I don’t really have, but I do my best.

P and I are spending a lazy weekend at our family cabin. When we were in college, we spent almost every weekend and many week nights out here, since it’s only a half hour drive south of Bellingham. Back in those days, our usual fare consisted of Costco burgers on Franz onion buns, Chex Mix, Eggo Waffles, and plenty of Miller High Life. Don’t get me wrong, I still love an occasional Eggo Waffle, but our tastes have grown up slightly since then, and usually I crave something savory for breakfast. Enter Breakfast Casserole.

imageGrowing up, my mom made a breakfast casserole with ham and cheese which was (and still is!) one of my favorites.  It is my inspiration for this casserole, though the texture of Mom’s breakfast casserole is more quiche/souffle, and my version is more like a savory baked french toast.

Breakfast Casserole a’la Emily (serves 8*)

Ingredients:

  • 1 “round” of Bread (my favorite is La Brea Bakery’s Rosemary Olive Oil bread) (cut into half-inch pieces)
  • 10 Eggs (beaten)
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1 pound of Sausage (I usually use Jimmy Dean, Sage)
  • 1 Bell Pepper (chopped)
  • 1/4 Onion (diced)
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese (divided)
  • Chives (optional)
  • Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine the eggs, milk, salt, and pepper in a large mixing bowl, stir to combine.
  3. Mix bread pieces into the egg mixture, set aside (this helps the bread absorb the egg mixture).
  4. While the bread is absorbing the egg mixture, brown the sausage in a large pan.
  5. When the sausage is almost cooked through, add the peppers and onion to the pan and sauté while the sausage finishes cooking.
  6. Drain the sausage, pepper, and onion on a paper towel.
  7. Add 1/2 cup of the cheese and the sausage mixture to the now saturated bread, and stir gently to combine.
  8. Pour into a 13×9 greased baking dish.
  9. Top with the remaining cheese and chives.
  10. Bake covered in foil for 30 minutes.
  11. Remove the foil, and continue baking for 15 to 20 minutes.
  12. Remove from oven, and let rest for 5 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

image*By 8, I mean that I cut it in to 8 pieces… it’s debatable whether 1 piece is enough for a “serving.”

