Tags

,

After rebooting Home for Two on Saturday, P and I decided to take a short walk to “The Point.” We sat on our favorite piece of driftwood for a while, and talked about some very deep topics, like what we will do when we win PowerBall, and where our next vacation should be.  After a while of enjoying the sun and sea breeze, we decided to keep walking along the water, instead of turning for home. As we continued around the east side of the island, we had a little adventure trying to get out on to the main road without trespassing on anyone’s property (turns out, not really possible as much as we tried really hard to avoid it. We each have the giant bug bites to prove it!). Once we got back to The Cabin, and had a quick change of clothes (two words: GRASS SEEDS), it was time to get the crab pots that we dropped the night before. It felt so great being out on the boat after our long, hot walk!

imageLiving in the Pacific Northwest, I have had my fair share of Dungeness Crab, but there is nothing better than eating it on the beach, less than an hour after it was alive. Seriously. We are not as gung-ho about crabbing as others along the beach, however we do like to eat at least one or two while we’re at The Cabin.  I usually toss a couple of ears of corn on the grill, and maybe boil some potatoes as “sides,” but this weekend I wanted to try something different. While cruising Tastespotting earlier in the week, I came across a recipe for corn chowder that piqued my interest and I had five ears of corn in the fridge just begging to be used! In an effort to lighten it up a little (which was promptly thwarted by my use of bacon grease to cook the corn), I used what has become my standard method for making a nice thick soup (which I learned while reading The Cooking Photographer).  This method has been life changing, I use it all winter long to make many different types soups. Sometimes I wonder whether P gets tired of eating variations of the same soup, but as they say, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!  I think when I make this soup in the future, I will add more bacon, and finish it with some green onions, but I did not include that addition in my recipe below.

Corn fresh off the cob cooked in bacon grease

Adapted from “Summer Corn Chowder Recipe

Serves 8-10

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I usually use the Kroger 2% Mexican Blend)
  • 3 slices thick-cut bacon (diced)
  • 3 cups corn kernels (divided) (I cut the corn off of 5 cobs, it was a little more than 3 cups)
  • 2 Tablespoons of Butter
  • 1 onion (diced) I used about 3/4 of a white onion that I had leftover
  • 3 medium yukon gold potatoes (chopped) (the original recipe called for russets, but I prefer the buttery texture of yukon gold potatoes in my soups)
  • 2 tablespoons, plus 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons dry white wine (optional, but I had it on hand)
  • 2 cups milk (we buy 1%, so that’s what I used)
  • Finely chopped chives
Method:

  1. Toss 1 teaspoon of flour with the cheddar in a small bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a large pot render the bacon until crisp, remove with a slotted spoon
  3. Add the corn to the pot, and sauté with the bacon fat(!) for about 5 minutes (not enough to cook the corn all the way, just enough to imbue the corn with smokey bacon-y goodness)
  4. Remove from pot and set aside.
  5. In that same pot, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook until tender. About 5 minutes
  6. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons flour over the onion and cook for 2 minutes or until the roux is golden
  7. Add the chicken broth, wine and potatoes. Cover and gently boil until potatoes are almost fork tender. Stir frequently, so they don’t stick to the bottom of the pot.
  8. While the potatoes are cooking, take one cup of cooled corn, and blend it with the milk (this really kicks up the corn flavor in the soup!)
  9. Add the remainder of the corn, milk, cheese mixture, and chives and bring to a simmer for about 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and chowder thickens to taste (Be careful not to let the soup boil again, otherwise the cheese will “break” and while it still tastes good, it looks disgusting!)
Enjoy!

image

